WASA Notable Artists

West Australian Society of Arts Inc.

Established 1896

Celebrating 125 years

Brendon Darby & Leon Holmes
who are now listed as WASA Notable Artists.


One of my main motivations to paint is a very basic human trait that I think we all possess. We need to share experiences that stimulate us. Living in Australia, I’m surrounded by an infinite variety of landscapes that never cease to amaze me.
There is a lot I want to share with you. I consider myself very fortunate, because it appears that there are people out there, that enjoy my interpretations of the landscape enough to want to show their friends. Their support enables me to continue painting.
For that I am very grateful.


Leon’s artworks reflect the beauty of natural light and colour of various scenes including landscapes, seascapes and portraits. Being challenged by the changing surrounding conditions, Leon is forced to work quickly which results in dynamic and vibrant artworks. Larger studio works are created in his home studio in Mandurah and are often inspired by these outdoor studies which he uses as reference. In the recent years, Leon has become an idol for many who love or want to learn to paint in oils, from life, just as the old masters did.

Leon is devoted to making  Plein Air Painting of today a more enjoyable experience for everyone. The artist has put his knowledge and experience to good use and designed his own range of outdoor painting equipment.


*#Bernard Woodward 1847-1916 First Director WA Museum and Art Gallery

*Henry Charles Prinsep 1844-1922

*#Herbert William Gibbs 1852-1940,

*#May Gibbs 1877-1969

*#Frederick Mathews Williams 1855-1929 President 1898-1903

*George Temple Poole

*#George Pitt-Morrison 1861-1946 President 1906

Curator of the Art gallery 1928-1942 His painting ‘Springtime’ was the first acquired by the Art Gallery.

Arthur Wakefield Bassett 1869-1948

*Campbell Clarke

J. W. R.Linton 1869-1947 ‘Patriarch of Western Australian Art’ President 1924 & 1926

*Margaret Hamersley Lady Margaret Forrest 1844-1929 Vice-President

Girolamo Nerli 1860-1926

Duncan McGregor Whyte 1865-1953 President 1920-1921

#Arthur and #Emma Boyd

Valentine Delawarr

Walter Paterson Meston 1870-1936 President 1925 & 1927

Kathleen O’Connor 1876-1968

Frank Ernest Allum 1863-1930 President 1908-1909

Florence Fuller 1867-1946

Daisy Rossi 1879-1974

Flora Landells 1888-1981

James Goatcher 1879-1967

Adolphe Augustus Plate 1874-1914

Muriel Southern

Amy Heap 1874-1956

Margaret Saunders (Established the ‘The WA Womens’ Society of Fine Arts and Crafts.’)

Lionel Jago 1882-1953

John Barker 1867-1943 President 1930

Miquel MacKinlay (McKinlay) 1893-1959

Margaret Johnson 1898-1967

Florence Venables Hall 1897-1987

Portia Bennett 1897-1989

Edith Trethowan 1901-1939

Allon Cook 1907- 1971

Harald Vike 1906-1987

Frank Edward ‘Effie’ Mills 1901-1957

Ernest Sidney Philpot 1906-1985

Herbert McClintock (aka Max Ebert) 1906-1985

Ivor Hunt 1903-1971

Geoff Ridley

Iris Francis 1913-2004

William Boissevain

Brendon Darby

Leon Holmes

* Founder members of WASA

#Exhibitor at the inaugural exhibition 1896/97


‘A Survey of Western Australian Art from 1696’ Arthur Spartalis 2008

‘Western Australian Art a selection of early works from the Robert Holmes a Court Collection’.

Enter your text here...